Revelation

Therefore, in order to keep me from becoming conceited, I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me.

2 Corinthians 12:7

Don’t you love when you get a revelation of something you’ve heard millions of times or read a thousand.  I can’t tell you how many times I’ve heard this passage and everybody’s explanation of it never made sense until now.  The way people explained this passage didn’t make sense to me because they kept saying we don’t know what the thorn in Paul’s (the author and writer of 2 Corinthians) flesh was.  I was listening to Gloria Copeland today and she said we do know what the thorn in his flesh was.  It was a demonic messenger sent to Paul from Satan that was to keep him from preaching the Gospel.  Messenger is defined as an angel or a messenger so it’s a personality not a thing.  Paul didn’t have an actual thorn or messenger in his body or in his flesh, it’s just a word to describe that he had an aggravation.  Most of the aggravation that he occurred is described in 2 Corinthians 11.

God didn’t send that thorn to him.   As a matter of fact when he tried to humanly get rid of the thorn in his flesh, God said to him in the first part of 2 Corinthians 9, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”    Paul could have given up but he didn’t.  2 Timothy 4:7 says, “I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.”  Paul had God’s power on him as stated in second part of 2 Corinthians 12:9, “Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.”

This has been enlightening to me because I was taught that we didn’t know what Paul’s “Thorn” was. Am I the only one who just realized this?  God wants me well.  He’s not trying to teach me something.  All Jesus did was God’s perfect will.  Jesus came to do the perfect will of God.  So, I just need to look to Jesus to know God’s will.  Jesus healed everywhere he went.  He wants me living in divine health.  I am going to seek and crave my healing.  Reading God’s Word is medicine to our body.  I will be staying in God’s Word till I’m better and long after that to stay in divine health.   I’d love your feedback.

 

Leave a Reply

